A Great Collection of Nonsense From a South Of The Border Guy

When experience counted

In A-Blurb on February 27, 2009 at 10:51 am

When we decided to imigrate to Canada we were almost sure that getting a job was not going to be an issue. If you want to work in this country you’ll work. There’s always something to do for almost anyone willing to find it.

canadian_flag

Just a month or so after our arrival I had the chance to start working. A fabulous call center on the East side with a fabulous 5pm to 2am shift helping people south of the border with their Internet connection. Every night, every single night, when driving back home, the image of Canadian “drapeau” on top of the Parliament Hill reminded me that here I was, where I dreamed things were going to be better, and that one day I was going to be able to get a better job than helping rude, uneducated first world idiots.

So, one day I got it. Some company 500 km from where I was offered me a job and once again we had to move. Twice in less than a year. Was it going to be the last? Who knows! That time someone decided to pay attention to my experience. For once, my experience counted for someone. Even if it wasn’t “Canadian Experience”!

A day like this, three years ago, I had the chance to start working at a great canadian company. And I’m happy and grateful with those that decided to give me this chance. Although not everything were roses and not everything is going as smooth as I’d have expected and there had been wrong decisions in the middle, here I am… here WE are. Living our canadian dream.

To Chris and Ian.
Thank You!

  1. That’s good to know. If it makes you feel any better, there are plenty of people born here who’s value is never recognized and who are never utilized to their full potential. Just look at how we treat our artists, writers, musicians, olympic athletes. We leave them to work in call centres and McDonald’s so they can struggle for years to fund their craft. Then, when against all odds they are successful (maybe in the US) then we fawn all over them and make it look like we were somehow responsible for producing this great talent.

    • Hi XUP, thanks for dropping by as usual…

      I know how lucky I am and that’s one of the reasons I’m so grateful. At the sametime I know there’s plenty of newcomers out there still wanting to pursue their canadian dream. I hope one day they can be as grateful as I am now…

Leave a Reply

