A Great Collection of Nonsense From a South Of The Border Guy

Sometimes I think we are a little bit selfish

In A-Blurb on April 7, 2009 at 10:23 am

Last weekend I read a very nice note at the Kanata Kourier-Standard about some high school kids that went to Guatemala to help build houses. It was nice to read how these kids came back really charmed by some south of the border things, specially those related to sharing and familly.

That note (you can read it here) triggered in my mind a new post for “the other blog” There, I wrote about what we bring to Canada. It’s not onlya matter of coming here and bring your family and your job skills. It’s also a matter of bringing something back to the country that opened its doors to us. So, after a while and expressing the idea to my readers, I asked them… “What do you think we can give to this country to make it even better?”

The feedback, so far, has been awful. I feel ashamed. That’s why the title.

But I’ll do a little experiment these days. I will write a post about all the things that Canada gave me directly or indirectly, and I bet you I’ll have much more success. Let’s see…

Damn! I read and re-read and I get really upset… Why do people think they must receive and they have nothing to give? Is that the reason? Is it really that? Or is there some other thing I do not see?

  1. I tried to read the responses you got on the other blog about this topic, but they didn’t translate very well in google so I’m not sure what you’re ashamed about. From my perspective as an immigrant long long ago and from living in Canada among people from all over the world, I think immigration makes our country much richer. We all learn something about the world from people of different cultures – we learn about the country, the food, the art, the music, the traditions. We incorporate some of them into our own culture which is wonderful. Imagine having no ethnic restaurants for instance? Along with the culture I think we can also gain an appreciation for different ways of looking at the world. How differently other nations conduct their relationships with friends, lovers, children, family. How differently they view success and failure. How their work ethics, sense of honour and trust differs. I can go on and on. I think this is one of the best things about Canada – that we don’t force people to change if they want to live here; that we welcome and accommodate differences; that we’re happy to have something new to incorporate into our culture.

Leave a Reply

