A Great Collection of Nonsense From a South Of The Border Guy

Garage Sales are (almost) here!

In A-Blurb on April 22, 2009 at 8:55 am

Wow… I have to admit it… I love Garage Sales. It was one of the greatest discoveries I’ve made in Canada…
garage
it may sound crazy, but we do not have that where I come from. I’m not sure why, if you ask. May be it’s because that sense of attachment everyone has to their belongings down there. Access to credit is not an everyday thing, so it can be so difficult to purchase new stuff sometimes that you end up embracing your belongings as if you were going to have them’till you die…. which happens sometimes!

When there’s some stuff we do not need anymore, we just donate it or pass it to someone else or just throw it away. But here… Oh Man! Things are so difficult! People have so much access to credit and are such avid consumers that you may find great stuff being sold by pennies sometimes!

When I arrived to Canada, almost 4 years ago, Garage Sales were the main source for most of the stuff I needed to start our new place. Plates, cuttlery, table, chair, computer desk, bed stuff, you name it…. Aylmer, Hull and Gatineau garage sales provided me with great stuff most of them I still own.

I’ve published a guide to garage sSale for my readers at the other blog… Do you want to take a look at it? It’s here: http://loszieglerencanada.com/2009/04/22/ventas-de-garage-preguntas-y-respuestas/ Feel free to share your thoughts on Garage Sales!

  1. Garaging is the best–great deals combined with the thrill of the hunt! I always figure anyone can go in a store and buy stuff–takes smarts and creativity to be a good garager!

  2. Hey Tired Prop,

    Last year I posted my guidelines (or schema) for doing the Great Glebe Garage Sale. This year’s is May 23. Time to start getting ready.

  3. I LOVE garage sales! So amazing and fun! You should also check out consignment shops for previously used items. You can find great stuff for cheap!:)

Leave a Reply

